Two-Tone Valentine Cookies

11 Feb

I’ve been struggling with a bout of insomnia lately.  My baby is sleeping soundly through the night, yet I’m not.  It was during one of my 12:30-4:30AM stints that I first thought of this little cookie experiment.  My original intent was to make two-tone cookies with colored H’s & 1″s inside “regular” sugar cookie dough for Hudson’s first birthday party (yes, I realize it’s still several months away… I’m a planner.  Besides, that issue is a completely separate blog post…)  Also, would H cookies & 1 cookies next to each other make anyone think of H1N1?  (I worry about these sorts of things in the wee hours of the morning.)

Here’s my Valentine’s Day version… just in time for you to whip up by Monday.  🙂

Make some yummy sugar cookie dough (make sure it’s the cut out kind!)  I like this recipe from Martha Stewart.    Take 1/3 of the dough and add food coloring.  I used the Wilton gel kind.  Make sure you knead the dough to get all the coloring evenly dispersed.  Cut out a circle and then use a small heart-shaped cutter to remove the inside.

Cut out small hearts from the pink dough using the same small heart cutter as in the first step.

Pleace the pink heart inside the circle shape with the heart shaped cutout.  Use your fingertips to lightly press the doughs together.  Lightly.  Don’t smoosh it.

Enlist the help of your very cute assistant.  (Oh, and this wisk was not, in any way, used during this recipe.  Except as a baby microphone. “Stop! In the naaaame of looooove.  Before you breaaaak my heart.  Think it o-o-over…)

Place the two tone cookies on a baking sheet sprayed with PAM (I used PAM Baking).  Be careful when transferring the dough to the baking sheet– I had one fall apart on me.  (Please don’t judge my cookie sheets.  They’re well-loved.  Does anyone know how to keep a cookie sheet looking new & not-so-gross?)  Sprinkle sugar (granulated or fancy–you choose) on the top of each cookie.

Watch ‘Sid the Science Kid’ with your dancing assistant while you wait for the cookies to bake.  We love Sid.  (Gerald, on the other hand… well, he’s a different story.)

When the timer goes off, take the cookies out of the oven & let ’em cool for 2-3 minutes.  (Two or three minutes is the perfect amount of time to stand back & admire these adorable little lovelies.)

Oh!  Go ahead & roll those little cut out hearts in some pink sugar & bake those up too!  They’re too cute to resist!  Put ’em all together for a delicious little Valentine’s day treat!

Just for fun, I packaged a two-tone cookie with a mini-heart-cutout cookie.  They turned out super cute (if I do say so myself) & those will be Hudson’s very first Valentines.  🙂

Leave a Reply

